Tips – Publicising your blog

16

read meIt’s that time again – Tip O’Clock ! And it’s talking about using publicising your blog – the basics  – getting it ‘out there’ for all to see and hopefully read!

A fair few bloggers have said ‘but I am posting great posts -what am I doing wrong? Why aren’t people reading my blog? ‘

Look at it this way – what have you done to tell people that your blog exists? When I first started blogging (all 4 months ago) I thought that my blog was the bees knees and that everyone should read it as it was great! I soon learned that there are some blooming fantastic blogs out there and far, far better writers than I could ever dream of being. Writing great content isn’t always enough – especially starting off – what you need is exposure. Posting up in the ‘new to blogging’ sections on BritMums, Blogger.Ed , Netmums Parent Bloggers Network and Mumsnet Bloggers sites are a good start. But that’s not usually going to do it alone – you need to put in the work too !

Join in conversations on forums and look round relevant ‘new to blogging’ groups and say hello to people! Take part in things like the BritMums blogging prompt where you can not only get a great idea for a post but you can alsoadd your link to that post on their blogging prompt page. Most people who join in these prompts visit the other blogs that have linked up – after all you have just blogged about the  same thing and it’s great to read other peoples views! Also check out the BritMums Blogging Carnivals – I have joined in a few of these and they always generate more traffic my way without fail!

Next -Embrace social networking !

Firstly it’s a good idea to set up a Facebook Page and Twitter account. I know it’s a all a bit daunting , when I started off blogging I didn’t have a Facebook page or Twitter so it was a learning curve! But it makes a huge difference – especially Twitter. It allows your readers – and people you read – to connect. Of course you can post links to your latest posts up  on Twitter but don’t let be all you use it for- get involved with discussions and generally natter away to people, people can get a real feel of your character and it makes you more engaging… and more engaging means they are more likely to swing by your blog and see what you have been up to!

To set up a Facebook Page you can read the Facebook ‘How to set up a Facebook page’ guide. Once you have it set up make sure that you start to ‘like’ people (clicking through our Blogroll Facebook links will enable you to ‘like’ relevant people, then if you are really keen you can ‘view their friends’ and start adding ones that you think are relevant – 8 times out of 10 if you ‘like’ someone then they will ‘like’ you back.

To get started on Twitter you can read their ‘Twitter 101: How should I get started using Twitter?’ I started off my searching ‘mummy blogger’ and adding everyone ! It took a while but I added about 400 people, I’d say just over half of those added me back within the next few days. Time consuming -yes! But I had an audience, fellow bloggers that I could talk to and ask for help. Through Twitter and BritMums I found other bloggers who were quite new, we started commenting on each others sites and now I like to think of those people as my friends! I say friends because they have been the ones to email me late at night to ask if I need any help sorting out the Showcase! This kind of support is invaluable as a newer blogger.

So really when you first start out it’s all about joining in, enjoying blogging and letting people get to know you!

Some other related posts that you may like to read…
Typecast’s post ‘Sofalising – The New Way To Talk?
and ‘Finding Your Blogging Feet

16 comments on “Tips – Publicising your blog

  1. This post has inspired me to have a good look through the LoveNewBlogs blog roll. I’d looked at the blogs but hadn’t thought to link up ‘social network’-wise. I’ve just spent a busy hour or so adding lots of new Twitter and Facebook people. YAY! x

  2. Mummy Plum says:

    Oh, I so want to do all this stuff. I just need to find the time for my technically challenged brain to read and digest and then apply it all! Have given myself a deadline of the next week to do it!

    And can I just say, this site is fab. I love everything about it – right down to the layout and design and the groovy fonts. Totally great.

  3. Good post – thanks so much. I will definitely be trying these out when I start. So much to do though, how do we all ever get the time?

  4. Angeline says:

    I can’t say thank you enough! I am relatively new and have had a few teething problems but am now on my way with a fresh new attitude!

  5. Nikki Thomas says:

    Thanks for this post, it is really good to get some good advice and I will definitely get working over the next few days!

  6. Some great tips here. Will definitely be working my way through some of these.

  7. […] weeks midweek ‘Tips’ post saw us talking about ‘Publicising your blog’ via social networking,forums and generally joining in blog prompts and carnivals. The next […]

  8. Great tips Annie, thank you! I’ve been building my Twitter following in the last few months but seem to have lost momentum – I’m going to go for it again now, thanks!

  9. Oooo Great tips! At the moment I seem to be flying about like a bluebottomed fly… unsure whether it’s best to write stuff for the blog, go bonkers on twitter or facebook, or search out other fab blogs to chum up with… as soon as I start doing one thing I suddenly think my very limited time would be better spent doing another! I am going to make a real effort to find and comment on other peoples blogs/forums/discussions etc during the next few days, Thanks again 🙂

  10. I’m learning more from this website in 5 minutes than I have in the last 2 months of googling! Thank you so much. xo

  11. SAHDandproud says:

    Some great tips here. Thanks very much!

  12. MotherWifeMe says:

    Thanks for the top tips, the fact this blogging malarkey is so limitless is both a good and a bad thing when it comes to figuring out the best way to do things!

  13. This is brilliant info ! Thank you all x

Care to comment?

