The Weekly Showcase 10-10-11

8

"Love New Blogs Weekly Showcase"

Welcome to the Weekly Showcase!

And check us out – we are now lovenewblogs.com (however lovenewblogs.wordpress.com will auto-direct you).

This week not only saw my usual Newbie Tuesday column over on BritMums Blog but also a guest post featuring some new bloggers over on the Netmums Blog too. I’m not the sort of woman to usually ‘put it about’ but where you guys are concerned I felt it appropriate !
Have you seen this week that BritMums has launched a new Big Sis Mentoring Project? This project will see volunteer experienced bloggers paired up with new bloggers where they will help with looking at the newbie blogger’s content, blog design, answering questions and providing assistance where needed. Interested? Head on over and pop your name down!

And now to business! This weeks  ‘Bloggers Blogger Of The Week’ is…


Here Come The Girls


How long have you been blogging?
Since the 6th July so about three months. I have to say – I didn’t start for the best of motives. I saw the advert offering an ipad as a competition prize to join Netmums. I thought I would just blog once a week. Somehow it has sucked me in and I have developed a one a day habit. I didn’t win the ipad though. Boo.



If you could give one piece of advice to a new blogger what would it be ?
Be yourself, write what you want to write, not what you think you should write. Join up with memes and blog hops to see what everyone else is up to. If you want people to comment on your posts then comment on other people’s.



Your favourite thing about blogging is…
Praise. I am a compliment-based-lifeform. The biggest difficulty I’ve had with being a SAHM is that most of the time no one notices what you’ve been up to. You might have spent the morning tidying the toys but by the evening they’re everywhere again. With blogging you can share your triumphs and disasters, people don’t always comment but it’s wonderful when they do. So to get a medal – even a hypothetical one – has made my day. Imagine me hugging it delightedly to my chest like Mutley in the Wacky Races.


What blogs are you loving at the moment?
The other best thing about blogging is that I didn’t realise there were all these wonderful blogs out there. I love magazines but there seems to be a gap in the market for writing about parenting young children, blogs fill the gap. There are so many great writers out there. I love Kate Takes 5, Helloitsgemma, Red Ted Art for a bit of crafting, our own Mammasaurus for a good belly laugh and I love a twin mum blog my favourites are: Mummy from the heart, Mari’s World and Trouble Doubled


Tell us of a talent that we may not know that you have …
My superhero skill would be the power to sleep. Don’t get to use it much these days, but I can sleep 12 hours at a time, any place, any where, any when. If I have to get up in the night I’m asleep before my head touches the pillow. I don’t know how it benefits mankind but it makes me happier.



Name us 3 of the favourite posts that you have written !
My second post: Surviving with twins.
An emotional post: Five things I want you to know about your father
A craft post: Cardboard box police car




Now before we continue we have more love to share…last weeks ‘Bloggers Blogger of the Week’ was a tied vote between Flossing The Cat and Chatty Baby . However, Chatty Baby was off galavanting and having some family fun and wasn’t around to answer our questions so here she is, the chatty one herself answering on behalf of last week!
Chatty Baby


How long have you been blogging?
I’ve been blogging since March. I thought it was high time someone started speaking up for the Little People. It also means I’ll have something to look back on and remember all the funny things I’ve done and the things I think are a big deal now.


If you could give one piece of advice to a new blogger what would it be ?
My advice is not new and I think most people give it. Without favouring any brand of running shoe, Just Do It! Start, see what happens. It’s very addictive though! It’s your space, so do what you like with it and if you change your mind, that’s up to you. Don’t let anyone else dictate to you. They have their own blogs.



Your favourite thing about blogging is…
My favourite thing about blogging is being able to say whatever I want and knowing that people anywhere in the world can read what I have to say. And I get such a kick when people comment!


What blogs are you loving at the moment?
I’m loving Love New Blogs! Such a great idea, I can’t say that enough times. There are some truly great blogs out there so it’s so difficult to narrow it down. I love Mammasaurus and Actually Mummy, but they’re doing absolutely fine without more bigging-up from me. I’ve laughed out loud at SAHD And Proud and Adventures Of A Working Mum recently so I’d definitely suggest having a look at them.


Tell us of a talent that we may not know that you have …
A talent . . . hmm. I’m just back from Cornwall and it turns out I’m pretty good with a bucket and spade. I am a very talented oarswoman and know all the verses to Row Row Row Your Boat (think I’ve mentioned that before). General all round good egg?



Name us 3 of the favourite posts that you have written !
3 favourite posts? So tough! One talent I don’t have is blowing my own trumpet!
From way back at the beginning, for a dose of feel-good confidence boosting: You’re Doing A Great Job
, Vomit Warfare – My Current Weapon Of Choice also when I was very new still, and before I had followers. Lastly,
5 Things I’ve Learned From My Parents because this one is my most popular post to date, and the first one that really made me feel that “I’d arrived” in the blogging world, whatever that means!

A huge thank you to those fab ladies and check our their favourite three posts!

And now a moment of your time please to head over to Emmys Mummy where she has a very important, touching message that she’s like to share with you all – thank you.

Who will be next weeks ‘Bloggers Blogger Of The Week’ is up to you – if there’s a post that particularly love from this weeks Showcase then simply comment at the bottom of that Showcase page to let us know and who ever has the most love will be featured next Monday in The Weekly Showcase 17-10-11 ooOOoo nearly Halloween!

Now kettles on, vino glasses primed, biccies ready…here we go!







8 comments on “The Weekly Showcase 10-10-11

  1. SAHDandproud says:

    Awww, thanks for the mention, and I’m glad to have provided some amusement. Sometimes, as parents, we all need a laff 🙂

  2. Hi just found your blogs through Mammasaurus!!! More blogs to stalk!

  3. Chatty Baby says:

    Thank you! I’ve been kicking myself (and Mummy) all week thinking I’d missed my big moment. My first award! Too exciting! Thanks to everyone who voted.

    Kettle’s on, I’m getting stuck in to this week’s showcase.

  4. Mammasaurus says:

    I’m voting Alive and Blogging because that video of her giving birth in water made me cry !

  5. Rebecca says:

    After a bad, bad day this has really made up for it! Such a lovely idea. Thank you very much!

  6. Thanks for adding my message to the homepage this week x

  7. catparrott says:

    I’m going to vote for Lagos Mum’s post about her sons haircut. I remember crying when we first cut E’s hair. It’s a great mummy milestone.

Care to comment?

