Snapshot Tuesday 15-11-11

3

It feels like a big responsibility to be writing the intro for this weeks Snapshot Tuesday. Mammasaurus has given me the keys to the kingdom, as it were. She’s letting me lose on one of her many online babies. I got the login for the Twitter account and she made me an admin on the Facebook page. Oh the power she has given me!

But with great power comes great responsibility. So I’ve been thinking long and thinking hard about what to talk about for this week’s showcase. And then I took a picture. And I knew what I wanted to talk about.

I took a picture this week that captures a moment in time. It captures my little boy’s first Autumn. And I went to a lot of trouble to get this photo. I put him into a new coat (that I’ll be honest, I partly bought for the purposes of taking the photo and which was probably far too warm for the weather.) I went out on a damp sort of day, which completely messed up my hair. I searched the park long and hard for a good spot. I took hundreds of photos. I clicked like a crazy lady with my fancy DSLR.

And I like the picture. The little guy looks cute. The new coat that I bought specially looks lovely. It’s bright and colourful. It’s worth the frizzy hair and the very dirty cardigan that I got in the process of taking it. But I don’t love this picture.

And the reason that I went to all the effort. And the reason why I don’t love it. Is because I took inspiration from another picture, an older picture. A picture which has always been a favourite of mine. And it is a picture of me. Me and my little brother to be exact.

I love this picture. I can’t look at it and not smile. My brother and I look like we are having an absolute ball. For me, this photo seems so full of life and movement and youth and fun. I wish, so much, that I could remember back this far.

And by comparison, my photo is a disappointment. I had fancy modern tools at my disposal and an infinite amount of takes. But the one shot, captured on an old camera which is a bit blurry and over exposed, beats it every time.

Because it’s not about the camera, or even the finesse of the person behind it, that makes a good picture. It’s what you capture that matters. And how what you’ve captured makes you feel.

So enjoy looking through all the lovely pictures that we have to share this week. Look at them, think about them, comment on them.

And then go. ..Take pictures. ..And then come back here and share them with us. Facebook us, Tweet us, join in with next weeks showcase. Because we do love a good photo.

introduction by Dear Beautiful Boy
love photo blogs? you know it!

PlayByPhoto

Happiness…

PlayByPhotoMy ideal Saturday evening?…Well that’s a simple one…I just had one last night. Relaxing at home with my husband and dogs, with a glass of wine, and a series or two to watch. Sounds simple enough, but why is it when I sometimes think of happiness, I don’t always think of the simple things that make me happy? I’m always thinking of bigger and better! And I don’t think that I’m the only one guilty of this. Perhaps we blur the lines between happiness and ambition?

Like this? Read more…
Find PlayByPhoto on Facebook
Find PlayByPhoto on Twitter

love photo blogs? you know it!

Dear Beautiful Boy

Colour

Dear Beautiful BoyA whole gallery
of the beautiful boy,
and the colour white.

A whole gallery of perfect
. . . as far as I’m concerned

Like this? Read more…
Find Dear Beautiful Boy on Facebook
Find Dear Beautiful Boy on Twitter

love photo blogs? you know it!

That’s the baby game

The Park

That's the baby gameI woke this morning to a wonderful stream of sunlight, cascading through my window like a golden waterfall.
Well that’s a very poetic way of looking at it.
It was more like Chris, close those bloody blinds, that frigging sun is burning into my brain!!
I don’t do mornings.
However, a (large) coffee and (potent) nappy change later I was sufficiently awake enough to appreciate the fact that it was indeed a beautiful day.
Having been stuck in the house for days with a moody Mya, I seized the opportunity to emerge from the darkness of our flat into the bright outdoors.

Mya loves being outside.

The moment I put her little shoes and socks on and we step outside our front door, her little face beams with delight. Her tiny toddler legs cannot move any quicker as she launches herself into the fresh air.

Today, with my usual, total lack of imagination we went to the local park.

Like this? Read more…
Find That’s the baby game on Facebook
Find That’s the baby game on Twitter

love photo blogs? you know it!

Rollercoaster Mum

The Gallery – Colour – Orange

Rollercoaster MumAnyways on to the subject of the Gallery – week 77. The subject was colour and I knew I really, really wanted to join in as soon as I read Tara’s post. I decided on the colour ORANGE. I am not entirely sure why except that it is youngest daughters favourite colour (when it’s not pink!) and I love the shades of orange you get in autumn and the orangey colours of a beautiful sunset. It’s a happy colour (bit like youngest daughter really!)

Like this? Read more…
Find Rollercoaster Mum on Facebook
Find Rollercoaster Mum on Twitter

love photo blogs? you know it!

love photo blogs? you know it!

Tales from Mount Pleasant

Just because…

Tales from Mount PleasantYou know how sometimes you do something, say something, create something that makes you feel incredibly pleased with yourself and, hopefully without coming across as too big headed (it’s just not British…), you want to share it with everyone and their dog?

Like this? Read more…
Find Tales from Mount Pleasant on Facebook
Find Tales from Mount Pleasant on Twitter

love photo blogs? you know it!

Five Go Blogging

The Most Ridiculously Over-Edited Photo Competition

Five Go BloggingYesterday in twitterland, I set a challenge to Mammasaurus, Motherventing and Bluebirdsunshine to see who could use the most effects on one photo and to post the results today. Not being the competitive type *ahem* this is just a bit of fun but you absolutely have to go and see their efforts creations and come back here and tell me that mine are the ‘best’! Okay?

So the brief: See how many processes, effects, stickers and text can you use in one photo using only Picnik.

Like this? Read more…
Find Five Go Blogging on Facebook
Find Five Go Blogging on Twitter

love photo blogs? you know it!

love photo blogs? you know it!

Cheetahs In My Shoes

All Seeing Cheetahs

Cheetahs In My ShoesThe Green Balloon Club on CBeebies has a lot to answer for. The last one we watched suggested that you go spotting for Fungi and both the Cheetah Keeper and his sister have tried very hard. The examples I’ve found have been dismissed as too small so imagine their delight when we found these in our own garden!

Like this? Read more…
Find Cheetahs In My Shoes on Facebook
Find Cheetahs In My Shoes on Twitter

love photo blogs? you know it!

Up The Tree

Dried Orange Slices – Budget Christmas

Up The TreeFor a bargain bag of oranges from Aldi I made lots of pretty dried and sparkly decorations for my tree!

Like this? Read more…
Find Up The Tree on Twitter

love photo blogs? you know it!

Here come the girls

Editing photos – Fairy magic

Here come the girlsJust a very quick post about editing photographs, as I’m supposed to be doing the ironing – yawn. The delectable Five Go Blogging has been showing how you can transform a photo using picnic, a free internet program. I have only used this to resize my badge and header through flickr so haven’t had chance to have a proper play. However I’m not so sure I can be easily swayed from the wonders of photoshop. Yes it’s very complicated. Yes it takes a week to change the colour of a font but the results are amazing. I thought I’d share my photoshop efforts and then see how they compare with picnic. So here are my photos for the most ridiculously over-edited photo competition.

Like this? Read more…
Find Here come the girls on Facebook
Find Here come the girls on Twitter

love photo blogs? you know it!

RillyRoos – Rillyness of the Roo

Donna Louise Trust – Our Experiences

RillyRoos - Rillyness of the RooAs Holly has gotten older and the family has grown, we are still welcomed with the same loving arms as we always have. Holly always comes home with clothes covered in paint, goo and yummy yummy food, she drags her carer around and they have such wonderful patience as they put her in the Fairy dress up set, take it off, put her in the police suit, take it off, put her in the fairy dress, take it off… and so on and so on. They never say “Oh Holly thats enough now” like I would do at home, they are never too busy, and no play is too messy.

Like this? Read more…
Find RillyRoos – Rillyness of the Roo on Facebook
Find RillyRoos – Rillyness of the Roo on Twitter

love photo blogs? you know it!

Chloe Witters

Autumn in full swing

Chloe WittersWhat we found when we emerged into the great outdoors of Croydon was a lovely bright day, and Autumn in full swing. The local playground is a bit run down and not very aesthetically pleasing. However, the two huge trees that hang over the play area had just shed their leaves, so the tarmac was covered in a beautiful soft layer of orange and red leafy carpet.

I vowed to come back with my camera within the next few days when I was feeling stronger. But by this point, the leaves had been swept to the edges and the sky was not so bright. Nevertheless, Arlo had a wonderful time charging through the piles of leaves (although he did manage to disturb a poor dying Bumble bee in the process of his charging), and I still got some nice autumnal shots.

Like this? Read more…
Find Chloe Witters on Twitter

love photo blogs? you know it!

love photo blogs? you know it!

Kate & Joel Photography

They love their uncle Gabe

Kate & Joel PhotographyThe English countryside really is a beautiful place….Okay so the light isn’t always great and it really does rain a lot, but for me that only enhances it. We took the girls out for a little walk up through the public footpath just to burn off some energy before bedtime (which is always a good thing) and they loved it! I mean what kid wouldn’t, horses, cows muddy puddles and endless fields to run through! It was also nice to see them with their uncle Gabriel (who they adore). At one point I said to Gabe “you don’t have to have Maisy on your shoulders, she is capable of walking” (despite what she says) and Gabe just looked at me said “but I like carrying her”… It was really lovely….

Like this? Read more…
Find Kate & Joel Photography on Facebook
Find Kate & Joel Photography on Twitter

love photo blogs? you know it!

Multiple Mummy

Faces

Multiple MummyYou can tell a lot from a face. Wisdom, kindness, anxiety, sadness, and even meanness. It is a big give-away of feelings and signals and when people say they can read your face it is usually true.

Like this? Read more…
Find Multiple Mummy on Facebook
Find Multiple Mummy on Twitter

love photo blogs? you know it!

Mummy’s Busy World

Greetings from Williamsburg, Virginia

Mummy's Busy WorldHere we are just three hours south of Washington, DC in Williamsburg, Virginia.

Since moving to the US from the UK we have been living with my Omama near Washington, DC. Now we are here in Williamsburg where papi’s parents live. That’s my grandma and grandpa.

Not only do they live here, but just down the road in Jamestown was where the FIRST permanent English settlement in North America was set up waaaaaaay back when the English were finding new places to take over.

In Colonial Williamsburg you can still see some of the original buildings and see how life was back then. Some things have been remade, but people live there and they dress like the olden times.

The ladies wear long dresses and the men wear funny looking shoes with white knee high socks. There are Union Jack flags everywhere along the main street – that I recognised instantly!

Williamsburg is right between Jamestown and Yorktown and is one of the most popular tourist attractions in the world. Who knew?

Like this? Read more…
Find Mummy’s Busy World on Facebook
Find Mummy’s Busy World on Twitter

love photo blogs? you know it!

Mammasaurus

Saturday Is Caption Day!

MammasaurusSimply post up a photo and readers can come up with captions for it – easy peasy weekend fun.

Like this? Read more…
Find Mammasaurus on Facebook
Find Mammasaurus on Twitter

love photo blogs? you know it!

3 comments on “Snapshot Tuesday 15-11-11

  1. Mammasaurus says:

    Some lovely photos this week! Argh I am going to have to go and take some myself now!

  2. Rebecca says:

    Brilliant into. Love boh your pictures, especially the one of you plaing in the leaves. It’s true the best ones are not always the most technically brilliant.

  3. khloeee says:

    ‘it’s not about the camera, or even the finesse of the person behind it, that makes a good picture. It’s what you capture that matters. And how what you’ve captured makes you feel.’

    So True.

    I often have my finger hovering over the delete button for photos that have captured an amazing smile or expression but are not quite sharp enough or overexposed. In reality, these are probably the photos I will love the most in years to come.

Care to comment?

