19-12-11 The Weekly SnapShot

So did you like our new layout last week? I’m loving it. It’s like our very own photo gallery of gorgeousness to look at.
I’ve always loved looking at and taking photos, but since I started blogging my camera has become like a third arm. I’m rarely seen without it. I live a lot of my life from behind a lens, trying to capture anything and everything that ‘speaks’ to me, or that is pretty, or interesting, or worth remembering.
I explained recently that my plan for this coming year is to do a 365 photography project, where I photograph and post a new photo everyday. I love setting myself these sorts of challenge. I’m naturally competitive, I mean, we all are really aren’t we? But my biggest competition is always myself. And if I say I’m going to do something then I get really determined to see it through.
For a while now I’ve been saying that I want to do a photography course, so that I can learn more about what my camera does and get better at what I can do with it. But courses aren’t cheap, and none of the ones that run locally to me are at convenient times for somebody who has a child to care for all day and a husband to spend time with at night.
So I’ve bought buy myself a book. A book that will teach me more about taking photos. An idiot’s guide to photography; right back to the basics. Hey, if I learn anything useful along the way, perhaps I can share it with you folks. Although judging by the lovely photos we get submitted every week, perhaps you guys could teach me a thing or two.
So 2012 is going to be the year of photography for me. I’m not saying I’m going to get extraordinarily good at it or anything. Just better. As good as I can be with the time and resources I have. Because I’ve had my swanky DSLR nearly a year now and I’m ashamed to say that I’ve very rarely taken it off of the auto setting. I know, I know….bad budding amateur photographer. And with 365 photos to take next year, I’ll have plenty of time to practise.
We’re taking a hard earned break at Love Photo Blogs over Christmas so we’ll see you again in the New Year. I hope you have a fantastic time and that you make lots of lovely memories and take lots of lovely photos. See you on the other side.
Intro. by Dear Beautiful Boy

Next Weekly Snapshot is on Monday 2nd January 2012!

Here come the girls


The Princess and The Pickle


A Bavarian Sojourn




Here come the girls


Mammasaurus

Care to comment?

