Trouble Deactivating a plugin

Question: Hi Sian, this is a really pathetic ask, but I installed a plugin a while ago on my WordPress self-hosted blog, which automatically shares new content to my facebook page. It was rubbish, as it picked ludicrous pictures to accompany the post. I now have Networked Blogs on there instead, which is great, but I cannot for the life of me find which plugin is doing the other autopost so I can deactivate it! So I still have to go over to my page and delete the extra (rubbish) post! What do you think? from Helen from Actually Mummy

Answer:

A quick an easy way to disable the plug in is by unauthorising it in Facebook. Here’s how.

1. Log into your Facebook account.
2. Go to Account Settings.
3. See the menu on top left of page… Go to Apps.
OMG – I have like 50 authorised apps!!!
4. Look down the list till you find the trouble maker and hit the x to remove it.
That would of course be simple if you knew what the app was!
Alternatively look for it in your WordPress plugins. Here’s how.
1. Log into your WordPress dashboard.
2. Look for ‘Plugins’ on menu on left hand side.
3. Dropdown menu will say : Installed Plugins, Add New, Editor etc. Click on Installed Plugins.
4. This page lists all your active installed Plugins.
5. If you still can’t work out which one it is, make a list of them and go back to your Facebook apps page to find a match.
It should be straightforward if you haven’t got as much authorised tosh as me!
Good luck and let me know how you get on.
Care to comment?

